Navigation Menu
Euphrasian Basilica

Euphrasian Basilica

UNESCO Heritage Site

The most valuable cultural property in Poreč, the Euphrasian Basilica, was registered on the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1997 as “Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Poreč“.

The early-Christian compound is the only complete landmark in the world preserved from that period.

Built during the time of Bishop Euphrasius in the 6th century it includes the atrium, baptistery, bishop’s palace, mosaics and remains of sacral buildings dating from the 3rd to the 4th centuries. The mosaics which decorate the inside and facade of the church are considered a valuable bequest of Byzantine art, and thanks to the floor mosaics and preserved writings the periods of its construction and renovation can be read.

Euphrasian Basilica

1. Atrium

2. Baptistery

3. Bell Tower

4. Bishop’s Palace – Museum

5. Lapidary

6. Archeological Site

7. View Point

8. Old Sacristy

9. Cella trichora

10. Basilica